Dirty Heads at Sweetwater’s Throwdown

Events, music

I went to my first Dirty Heads concert in October of last year. Honestly, I only bought the tickets because one of my favorite bands was opening for them (The Unlikely Candidates) at one of my favorite venues in Atlanta. I knew a few Dirty Head songs but definitely didn’t realize how many I would recognized or how much fun I’d have jamming along with the tunes I didn’t know.

When I heard Sweetwater Brewery was throwing a huge 21st Anniversary party and Dirty Heads were headlining I figured I needed to go. Another great reason was that I would be able to bring my camera with me this time 🙂

The anniversary party was an all day event with a bunch of bands. Unfortunately the weather wasn’t great and the ticket I bought didn’t have in-and-out privileges. So long story short, I got there about an hour before their set. I grabbed a beer and enjoyed the last couple of minutes of Twiddle and scooted forward to prepare for the Dirty Heads.

I got a decent spot for watching the show but not for photographing it. I realized I needed to put myself out there if I wanted to get decent photos (pretty terrifying for me). I wiggled my way as close to the front as I could and asked the women standing there if I could steal their spot for the first two songs just to get photos and then I’d get out of the way. After a little negotiation on their part (first song only), I got my spot for the headliner. They had been holding down the front row for close to 5 hours. I’m so thankful they were willing to share!

DSC_5892

Yes I’m a professional photographer but that doesn’t mean I’m done learning and improving. I discover something new almost every time I pick up my camera. Especially when it comes to concert photography. I’m constantly trying to improve my photography skills and the only way I can do that is getting out there, stepping out of my comfort zone, and practicing. That being said if you are an Atlanta artist (musician, painter, dancer, photographer, videographer, sculptor, etc.) interested in collaborating, I’d love to work with you! I’m starting a little late, but in 2018 I’m devoting more time into my craft. Want to help me?

-Lindsay

Leave a comment